TH400 Leaking Fluid

Old February 27th, 2009, 10:04 AM
Englishman

TH400 Leaking Fluid

I've just pulled my 1965 Delta 88 out from storage and found a hefty pool of tranny fluid on the floor. As far as I knew there were no big leaks when I put it away so i'm hoping it's just a small drip that's accumulated over the long period of storage time.

I've never worked on an autobox before... Any suggestions?
Old February 27th, 2009, 10:38 AM

Try to identify exact source. Commonly the bottom pan gasket weeps and the pan bolts can be tightened or gasket replaced if its hard and brittle. Try cleaning the area with solvent and drying everything. This will also help to pinpoint exact area of the leak. There is a seal at tailshaft, front shaft, and where shift linkage enters the trans. Sometimes the dipstick tube at trans body will leak as well.
Old February 27th, 2009, 11:14 AM
Old(s) Fart

Couple of thoughts come to mind. First, was the trans stored by simply sitting on the floor? Is it possible that the trans pan may have rusted from contact with concrete? I've had metal gallon containers of lacquer thinner rust out after sitting on the garage floor. Second, did you have a plug in the tailhousing? Was the converter in place? The driveshaft yoke and converter complete the seal at the input and output shafts. Without them, fluid can wick out or even spill out if the trans is tilted at all. Is it possible that water got into the pan and caused the fluid level to go up? This could have been condensation as well as rain. Finally, as noted above, it's not unusual for the trans fluid to wick out the pan (or other) gasket. The gaskets and seals will dry out over time.
Old February 27th, 2009, 11:54 AM
Registered

Both mine do that if they're long term stored, no big deal. Since I heated my garage they both stopped doing it?
Those little drips do turn into big puddles and that stuff tends to spreads out pretty good.
Old February 28th, 2009, 07:21 AM