67 Olds 400 rebuild hp gain

Search this Thread

Old October 25th, 2019, 05:31 PM

67 Olds 400 rebuild hp gain

First, I am completely new to posting in a forum like this. Second, I am not a mechanic or muscle car expert by any stretch of the imagination, please be patient with me. I have entered into a verbal agreement to purchase a 1967 Olds 442 with the original #'s matching motor. I know the motor originally had a 350-hp output. The current owner completed a frame off resto in 2016 and the motor was gone through and a Holley Demon 750cfm carb, Edlebrock intake, W30 camshaft, and HEI headers purchased as a package from Mondello Performance were added. The current owner states the performance package from Mondello boosted the horsepower to 450-hp. Does this seem like a reasonable claim for the modifications that were made? Thanks in advance for your opinions!
Old October 25th, 2019, 06:17 PM

My opinion is no, I would think head work would be needed as well for that kind of boost, you cant just change parts and guess at horsepower. Chances are compression is down a bit with felpro head gaskets.
Old October 25th, 2019, 06:37 PM

Thank you for your response and expertise. The current owner did not mention if the heads were reworked as part of the rebuild, I will ask. He also did not offer any dyno proof of the claimed hp gain. Just blessing, but the stated hp gain may have been a sales pitch by Mondello to get him to buy the performance package. Would you offer your estimate for hp gain by only adding those parts if the car is tuned correctly?

I still welcome additional opinions from other members on my original question. I appreciate everybody's expertise.
Old October 25th, 2019, 07:23 PM
Administrator

Somewhere between 350 and 400 best guess.
Old October 25th, 2019, 08:26 PM

Oldcutlass, thank you, I appreciate your best estimate. I welcome any additional responses to my original and second question in this thread.
Old October 25th, 2019, 08:40 PM