Newb in need of help.

Search this Thread

Old November 25th, 2019, 08:07 AM

Newb in need of help.

Hello guys, Jenny from Maryland here. I'm a complete noob to the olds motors. A few years ago I bought a g body El Camino with a built 425 toronado engine in it. And I loved it. But the more I got into it the more I realize the build was extremely janky and it wasn't long before it blew up catastrophically. I now have a cracked toro block on an engine stand and an oil pan full of shattered Mondello camshaft and I'm super not happy about it.

but for some reason I'm a glutton for punishment and I went out recently and bought another 425 block. It seems I didn't do enough research because it turns out not all 425 blocks were the same. The one I bought was not of a toronado and it seems to have the oddball 45 degree cam bank angle. (Although the lifter diameter seems to be the same as the toro since I was able to take the Toro lifter out of my old block and fit it into my new block) maybe somebody could tell me what that means?
So on to the question... From what I understand different cam bank angles also means different heads correct? Meaning the c code heads that were on my Toro motor would not work?
Would that also mean a set of procomp aluminum heads also not work?
Is modification of the heads easy and an option?
I'm hoping to build a pretty hot engine so is this block not necessarily what I want to have? Should I go with my other idea of building a 425 out of a 455 block?

To give an idea of what I'm looking for. What I had was a 425 with a Mondello cam which I can only assume was Chinese garbage, but it was a pretty choppy cam which is what I liked. I wouldn't mind going for straight-up lopey if it actually puts down the power. I have an Edelbrock performer intake, hooker supercomps, and dual 3" exhaust with flowmaster mufflers.