General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Spare parts- who collects them?

Search this Thread

Old April 12th, 2024, 11:44 AM

I'm kind of new to this "owning an old car" thing. I'm finding some parts are hard to find, and its tempting to grab them when I find them, even if I don't need them right now, so I'm asking- how many of you have a parts car, or a cache of spare parts? Would you buy another engine if you came across one for a decent price? My engine needs a rebuild and until I tear it apart, I don't know if it's rebuildable. Maybe the cylinders are badly scored and there's not enough left to bore them out, or maybe the crank is scored or damaged in some way. I won't know until I get into it, and I know a place I can get a used motor which may or may not be better than the one I already have. It's still in the car, seller is parting it out and he says the engine is a "rebuildable core". That's why I'm asking how many of you think it's worthwhile to grab parts- like a second engine or even a whole car. Or, do you generally only buy parts when you need them?

Last edited by oldcutlass; April 12th, 2024 at 02:02 PM.
Old April 12th, 2024, 12:07 PM

Welcome to the world of obsolete parts sourcing, where unobtainium can be a rare and prized element!

The answer to your question will vary from person to person as everyone has different capacity to spend money on parts to squirrel away or space in which to squirrel. Ideally, collect the spares you're able to. A parts car can be a good idea if you have the space to store it AND it has quality/usable parts you're likely to need. Some parts are rarely replaced or readily available aftermarket. Other parts aren't reproduced and having one on the shelf can be a real time (and cash saver) when it's needed.