General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Worth fixing or sell it?

Search this Thread

Old July 7th, 2014, 09:55 PM

Worth fixing or sell it?

I bought this car a few days ago. I'm wondering if I should keep it and fix everything, or try to get my cash back out of it and keep looking.

It was sold to me as a reliable daily driver. After spending a few days going over it it is NOT a daily driver. I'm a decent mechanic but I don't want a car I have to rebuild the motor or trans in. However if I bought it way under value then I will suck it up and put in the money to fix everything the right way. I am looking to you guys to give me a little perspective as this is the first Olds I have owned and I don't know the market on them, at all.

The paint is decent (its been repainted but was not prepped well, you can see sanding marks under the paint in some areas), chrome is good, bumpers are not totally straight, it runs a bit rough, trans is acting up (as soon as it gets up to temperature it slips when you take off from a stop, fluid is not low).
Interior is good, except for headliner has staining. Other than the mechanical stuff I described earlier, it needs tires, shocks, new hoses, and the brakes pull to the right.

Let me know if you need more info.
Here is a picture of it and the text from the ad I bought it from.

Last edited by ScottHowey; July 7th, 2014 at 09:58 PM.
Old July 7th, 2014, 11:46 PM
'87 Delta 88 Royale

You have a nearly 50 year old car, very few cars this age are daily drivers, did you really expect it to be like a 5 year old Honda?. I'm not having a dig at you, I suspect you didn't really expect it to be ready for daily use either.