350 build

Search this Thread

Old March 15th, 2010, 04:28 PM

350 build

OK, I finally got all my parts and heads back from the shop. I have no clue as I have never done this before. Reading the service manual it states to coat the head gaskets with sealer.
I do not know what type of sealer
I have all kinds of RVT, red, black, blue, but I would not think this is what I should be using.
Could someone point me in the right direction?

Thanks
Dave
Old March 15th, 2010, 05:15 PM

Almost all head gaskets today do not use sealants.however you should see if there is any info in with your gasket set.
Old March 15th, 2010, 05:41 PM
Hangin' out...

Originally Posted by roscoep41
Almost all head gaskets today do not use sealants.however you should see if there is any info in with your gasket set.
X2. Follow the instructions that came with the gaskets. I would stick to the CSM for torque specs and sequence. Keep in mind, the CSM manual assumes you are using factory replacement parts.
Old March 15th, 2010, 06:02 PM

Thanks for the info, I have the Fel-Pro FS-8171PT-4 gasket set.
it says....
Fiber Faced Gaskets: install dry
Metal Faced Gaskets: Requires a thin even coat of sealer applied to the metal side of gasket....
I would say it is the Fiber Faced??
Any ideas?
Old March 15th, 2010, 10:28 PM
Hangin' out...

Originally Posted by 74 Omega
Thanks for the info, I have the Fel-Pro FS-8171PT-4 gasket set.
it says....
Fiber Faced Gaskets: install dry
Metal Faced Gaskets: Requires a thin even coat of sealer applied to the metal side of gasket....
I would say it is the Fiber Faced??
Any ideas?
I'm going to guess it's fiber. If it was metal, you would be sure. Can you take a picture and post it?
Old March 17th, 2010, 10:47 AM

call

Looking good Dave.

Any questions don't hesitate to call me.

Steve
Old March 17th, 2010, 11:11 AM
car guy