70 cutlass supreme vert drivetrain and other projects

Search this Thread

Old April 22nd, 2013, 10:28 AM

70 cutlass supreme vert drivetrain and other projects

Hello everyone, I am just starting a pretty big project on my convertible. I am still a newbie to most things so I wanted to start a thread to ask for advice and hopefully post some pics that may be able to help out others in the future. My original engine has been at the builder since the end of February, he has it done and I will be meeting him on thursday to have the engine broken in and dyno'd. I will post some pictures of the engine and results of the dyno. The engine will be the last thing to go back in the car, in the meantime here is a list of everything else I will be doing.

th350 tranny being removed and brought in to be gone through and freshened up. Will also be changing to 2400 stall converter
driveshaft removed to be cleaned up and painted
2.56 open rear end removed and replaced with 3.42 posi rear end from 69 442
replace rear control arm bushings and rear springs
replace fuel sending unit
replace speedo cable
replace heater core
clean up and paint brake booster and master cyclinder
sandblast and paint alternator and a/c brackets
install windshield wash fluid bin and see if wash fluid pump motor works
remove rear bumper and replace with 442 cut out bumper
install new 2.5" x-pipe dual exhaust system.

I am sure I have forgotten something but that is the meat of my project. I found a nice thread from Allan on the heater core replacement. If anyone has any advice or can point me towards any good threads on any of the other things please let me know. Thanks in advance for any help
Old April 22nd, 2013, 12:11 PM
Administrator

Since your under there, check your rubber fuel lines at the gas tank. Also the flexible brake line to the rear end.
Old April 22nd, 2013, 12:13 PM

Originally Posted by oldcutlass