The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

My Scary 69

Search this Thread

Old September 22nd, 2010, 06:37 PM

My Scary 69

Hi CO,

I just picked up my '69 Cutlass Ragtop on Thursday.

This is what I know:
It is pretty much franken-stock.
1969 Cutlass S CONVERTIBLE
1971 455CI 7.5L 396021F
Rochester Quadrajet
1968 TH400 - OG 6817108
HEADS - GA 409100

I have a points system which will be replaced very soon with a Mallory Unilite.
I just need to figure out how.

I also have the 1969 Oldsmobile, Cutlass, Toronado Factory Shop Manual on CD on it's way.

I can wrench with the best of 'em but I am not a mechanic so I hope you guys will be my guide.

cheers
Gary
"Happiness is wanting what you have...and I have a 455!"
Old September 22nd, 2010, 06:43 PM

Welcome to the Olds family

Glad to have you aboard, now your have to post the obligatory pictures or you Olds turns into a Yugo You have two days to respond
Old September 23rd, 2010, 04:52 AM
Past Administrator

Welcome to CO Gary
Old September 23rd, 2010, 08:34 AM

Thanks.

So my first job will be to service the drums all the way around.
Any suggestions?
Old September 23rd, 2010, 08:59 AM
71 cutlass convertible

I know it will be more expenisive but if you have to redo brakes you may want to consider changing to front discs. This is only if you are going to drive it alot. Discs stop your car much better. I had a car with drums only and it could be an adventure to stop. my .02
Larry
Old October 17th, 2010, 08:30 PM

Brakes are best, first move...

Congrats on the new ride. Not sure what condition your car is in, but YOU and your car will be in a lot better condition with good brakes. I recently bit the bullet and had front power discs installed on my 69 Cutlass S Convertible. Best move I have made yet.