The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

Rust

Search this Thread

Old October 11th, 2012, 04:44 PM

Rust

I am a newbie and this is my first post. Just wanted to say greetings to everyone
And looking forward to rebuilding my 1968 f85. I bought the car last month and
It needs almost everything. Body is full of rust and think frame needs work, so I am glad I found and was accepted into classic. Never rebuilt a car before(bucket list) and hope their are some professional and patient olds builders out there so
I can pick your intellect

Thanks for listening. And always looking for suggestions
Old October 11th, 2012, 05:09 PM

Welcome to CO. Sounds like you have an ambitious project and you will find lots of help here. Post some pictures when you get an opportunity.

Brian
Old October 11th, 2012, 05:13 PM

Welcome to the site! Good luck with your project.

Greg
Old October 11th, 2012, 05:50 PM

Sometimes rusty rotted cars are best left alone. I am all for restorations but will the end result be worth it after all the $ spent.? Just something to think about before beginning. If you are committed then go for it. Post pictures when you can.
Old October 11th, 2012, 06:37 PM
Connoisseur d'Junque

+1. Bad rust (unless it's a very rare car, or has sentimental value) means do what you want and drive it like you stole it.

The amount of work, time and money needed to reconstruct a rustbucket can never be recovered. If you want a nice car, the only way to go is to start with a nice car.

- Eric
Old October 11th, 2012, 07:39 PM

exactly... the donor metal has to come from either reproduction places [commonly Chinese parts and/or stuff that needs a LOT of work to fit and function]... or a less rusty car... in which case start with the less-rusty car.

'68 H/O convertible- worth saving.
'68 F-85, not so much.