Non-Olds Engines For discussion on non-Oldsmobile engines. All forum rules apply.

clunking posi. Bad or binding spider gears??

Search this Thread

Old May 2nd, 2012, 09:23 PM

clunking posi. Bad or binding spider gears??

Hey All,
I sold my 77 Trans Am W72 4 speed posi car to my brother to help fund purchasing my Olds. It's been living in storage here, while he finished his new garage space in Portland. I'm going to drive it down to him in a couple weeks.
I took the car out last weekend on a long drive to make sure everything was working good. The car ran like a top, except after a long stint (about 30 miles) on the freeway. When I pulled of the exit the RR wheel was clunking, and sounded/felt like the lugs were loose. Scared the crap out of me. Got out, checked the lugs, and felt for a hot wheel, (nothing) then rolled down the road in a 40 zone home for about 10 miles with no problems.
Obviously I'm no diff expert, but can the spider gears bind? What would cause that?? Is it safe to drive? Should I even think about driving it to Portland? I don't really have an extra 1K+ floating around. Hoping you guys can give me some guidance.
Mr. Trick???
I know this is essentially non Olds related, so I appreciate any help.
Thanks!!

Last edited by Bluemeanie; May 2nd, 2012 at 09:24 PM. Reason: forgot a word
Old May 3rd, 2012, 05:01 AM

I'd change the fluid, and add the posi lube.
Check the u-joints while there.
Old May 3rd, 2012, 06:36 AM