Want to build/rebuild..

Search this Thread

Old November 11th, 2006, 09:33 AM
Ringo

Want to build/rebuild..

Hello all,
First post around here, so I'll introduce myself. My name is Rob, and I'm a college kid in Florida. I'll preface my question(s) by saying that my knowledge of cars is very, ver miniscule. I've always been interested in the mechanics of a car, I'm good with my hands, and building things is my fortay. I know that doesn't translate into car knoweldge, but gotta start somewhere, right? There are a few places near/around my hometown (and college town, actually) that have old Oldsmobile parts/cars and I wanted to potentially try my first crack at an engine. My question is - Can anyone point me in the direction of some good books/tutorials about engines for beginners, and maybe Oldsmobiles specifically? Thanks in advance!

Ringo

Old November 11th, 2006, 08:08 PM

Welcome Rob...I am a newbie to this forum as well, but not to mechanic work.
ok...well you have your work cut out for you. I only have a few pointers but but add mine to every one elses and pick out the ones that work for YOU. Not everyones ideas or thought process work for everybody else. Bear in mind that there may very well be more than one way to do something. Each one can be correct in thier own right. Use the addage."opinions are like ***holes everybody has them and they all stink" Listen to EVERYTHING and after a while you will be able to weed out the crap, and hone in on the good stuff. This will apply in every aspect of working on the car. Now here are two of MY tips that may get you started.