Repainting SSIII wheels???

Search this Thread

Old January 24th, 2023, 04:08 AM

Repainting SSIII wheels???

--My 71 Cutlass has 76-77 SSIII snap on center wheels. When I first put them on back in '94 or so I had them painted by a shop with acrylic enamel automotive paint. Since then 2 got bent ( don't ask) so I replaced them with 2 other wheels that I painted quickly with a brush, using left over paint from the original paint job- no hardener, etc. Of course those 2 hand painted wheels look like crap and paint has chipped off, etc. Since then I've had car painted with basecoat/clearcoat. Car is Nordic Blue Code #24.
--Now I am doing some brake work on car and have wheels off- decided to do something about lousy looking wheels this winter. I still have left over single stage paint from wheel job, and another can of left over basecoat that car was painted with. I do have a cheap harbor freight spray gun but I am not good with it. I wanted to just go and buy a couple aerosol cans of Duplicolor and paint the wheels, but that isn't as easy as it used to be.
--Looks like I can buy aerosol BC/CC online.
--SO.. looks like my choices are-- 1) use left over single stage and buy reducer and hardener- spray with paint gun. 2) use left over basecoat and buy reducer/ hardener and clearcoat, use paint gun , 3) Buy "touch up" paint BC/CC (paint with separate cans of BC/CC), 4) go to big box or hardware store and buy a blue color that is close enuff to body color and paint them.
--I really hate to do the job with my paint gun as I will have to get all the stuff I need including lacquer thinner for cleaning, etc etc.
--OK sorry so long of a read... I use this car quite a lot in summer and occasionally go slowly down gravel roads. I would like something that is hard and will stand up. I am thinking that the BC/CC aerosol might be the best way to go, though it is kinda pricey..
--What you guys recommend? Thanks Greg.
Old January 24th, 2023, 04:49 AM