Newbie budget build 350

Search this Thread

Old December 15th, 2022, 08:15 PM

Newbie budget build 350

First things first, I’m just a hobby gearhead that set a wildly unrealistic goal of building an entire car in 6 months (already over a month in), and the engine is just one piece of that puzzle. This is my first time working on Oldsmobile engines and im already starting to become fond of them.

i currently have in my possession:

1) 1977 Olds 350 from the project car in question. It looks greasy and high mile but it ran like a clock when i pulled it. Maintained steady temp, oil pressure on the factory gauge showed between 10-35psi at temp, and it had impressively snappy throttle response. It didn’t seem to be an oil burner, maybe just the slightest haze. It is however a windowed main, 3A head, dog dish piston smogger deluxe and the timing set is one of the most stretched ive seen. I only ran it in my garage/driveway since the car was not driveable.

2) 1972 Olds 350 complete parts engine for which i have to give the block back to its original owner (numbers matching block to his car & slightly spun bearings). It has some really good parts on it that i got for a great price. 7A heads, comp 210/216 hydraulic roller cam & 1.6 pro mags, performer rpm intake, nice valve covers and hooker competition headers. When the engine was built the pushrods were measured wrong and the intake gasket failed immediately resulting in P-T-V contact and cylinder 8 hydrolocking on coolant. but despite all that happening the top end seems good. I also have a melling oil pump with standard and high pressure springs to choose from.