Newbie in real need of some 403 advice

Search this Thread

Old March 30th, 2011, 08:42 PM

Newbie in real need of some 403 advice

Hello all,

A newbie here, so please do not hate me for posting another questions about heads...I have searched and searched, and need some real answers from the Olds experts and the 403...I have read about adding some power to the 403 by swapping the heads out for 72 7a's, which is what I am going to do.
But what do the heads really need besides drilling the bolt holes to match the 403? Do they need any work done to them to help the flow of the 403, or can I just clean them up, and bolt them on without worrying about anything?
What type of intake manifold will compliment it the best, and does anything need to be done to that to make sure everything is working effectively? I heard that the heads need extra holes drilled to avoid overheating...is this true? Do I need to do anything to the cam or pistons to balance the heads with the rest of the engine? Should I be replacing the springs and rockers? If so...what are the specs of what I need? I am a total novice, and need some real advice from people who know the 403 engine inside and out.
As you can see...I am a bit overwhelmed. The car (79 Trans Am) does have the cats removed, and has dual exhaust, but stock manifolds. It will be a street performer, and see some highways as well...about 65/35.
I am looking to just get some more performance and torque (mainly) out of the 403, but nothing to overboard.
Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you so much for helping us new guys out...you have no idea how much it means to us.

Pete
Old March 30th, 2011, 09:49 PM

Originally Posted by brewcity
Hello all,