How hard is it to rebuild a Th400?

Search this Thread

Old April 25th, 2011, 02:47 AM

How hard is it to rebuild a Th400?

I am pretty good with my hands, I did my first Qjet 6 months ago and it was super easy. I am currently doing my first ever motor rebuild and it too is very, very easy. I cannot think of a single thing i've ever taken apart that i'd ever had a hard time reassembling. I am a part time gunsmith and have played with all sorts of neat toys over the years, so in a nutshell I am pretty good with my hands and anything mechanical. I'm told the Th400 is quite simple for an auto tranny, my step father rebuilt his Th350 and he said aside from keeping everything 100% clean enough to serve dinner on it was pretty simple. Anytime I take something apart I've never worked on before I TAKE MY TIME and never force anything. Probably the reason behind my success with past projects.

I am already rebuilding the motor and I figure while the Th400 is off now would be the best time to do any major work on it. I figure if it works fine for now it will likely give me issues in a year or two just because the thing has never been rebuilt since it was made in 1971. Plus it will be powering a 13,500lb truck with 6.17 gears.

Can I do it? What are the hardest parts? Special tools? Tips? Is it 2 or 3 week job?
Old April 25th, 2011, 04:18 AM

Originally Posted by Gunfreak25
Can I do it? What are the hardest parts? Special tools? Tips? Is it 2 or 3 week job?
I think you can do it if you get the proper training materials for it.
Armed with an ATSG manual and DVD and you should be good.

Just get a pair of Lock ring pliers from Sears for $15
Dual feed the clutches and you should have no issues.

Here's some tips from Jake who runs a performance trans shop out of Texas.
http://www.jakesperformance.com/TH400_Rebuild_Tech.html

The hardest part truthfully is making sure you have 100% of your parts on hand
before you start the project. I had to wait for weeks at a time for parts