Manual bellhousing tips

Search this Thread

Old October 31st, 2022, 09:05 AM

Manual bellhousing tips

I'm looking to put a TKX transmission behind a 455 but I am new to installing manual transmissions. Any tips on what to look for regarding fitment, are some castings better than others regarding strength, etc. This is going in a 71 cutlass s with a mild build on the 455 and would likely never see anything past 500hp in future plans. There is one for sale on my local craigslist but I really don't know what to look for aside for obvious damage. Casting number is 1249598. I appreciate any advice!
Old January 15th, 2023, 05:55 PM

Tkx trans

Originally Posted by Natedawg
I'm looking to put a TKX transmission behind a 455 but I am new to installing manual transmissions. Any tips on what to look for regarding fitment, are some castings better than others regarding strength, etc. This is going in a 71 cutlass s with a mild build on the 455 and would likely never see anything past 500hp in future plans. There is one for sale on my local craigslist but I really don't know what to look for aside for obvious damage. Casting number is 1249598. I appreciate any advice!
Just so you know that Trans requires the tunnel to be cut open, referred to as " coffin" .It is a major wound and will require a lot of body work to return to original appearance.
Just an FYI.
Old January 15th, 2023, 07:40 PM

Originally Posted by maddoctor
Just so you know that Trans requires the tunnel to be cut open, referred to as " coffin" .It is a major wound and will require a lot of body work to return to original appearance.
Just an FYI.
Not true.

The TKX is a slimmer transmission than the TKO and other Tremec offerings. It fits an A Body (and other cars) without having to modify the car at all.

Old January 16th, 2023, 04:43 AM

Use new ARP hardware that is dedicated to this particular job. Ideally, use a Lakewood bell housing.