Turbo 400 with Dual Gate adjustment issue (will roll in neutral)

Search this Thread

Old June 27th, 2022, 05:56 PM

Turbo 400 with Dual Gate adjustment- issue (will roll in Park)

I have a 72 442, 455 with Hurst Dual Gate and Turbo 400. I put a new Dual Gate cable in years ago and lucked into getting all the stops close for each drive setting. I have zero experience with automatic tranny's as far as working on them so getting it close was pure luck. The problem is when in park the car will still roll unless the parking brake is on, and I wouldn't even trust that on a very steep incline! If I look under the car at the lever that the cable end attaches to, does the lever need to move closer to the front of the car? That is what I'm thinking, and I can loosen the bolt and move the arm farther in the proper direction. This is really frustrating me! If only it was a 4 speed! LOL! Any wisdom will be appreciated!

OLE442

Last edited by OLE442; April 30th, 2023 at 09:49 AM.
Old June 27th, 2022, 06:02 PM

I think the cable has to push further to the front as you say.
I am in the process of installing a dual gate for my 70 cutlass
Old June 28th, 2022, 09:36 AM
Gary

I had all kind of issues until I replaced these three parts when I installed my dual gate. Apparentley one or more of them were either bent or just worn and once I replace them my issues went away.
69-72 A-Body Frame To Transmission Cross Shaft Back Drive Reverse Lock Out Rod | eBay
69-72 A-Body Steering Column To Cross Shaft Back Drive Reverse Lock Out Rod | eBay
69-72 Gm Column Cross Shaft Back Drive Reverse Lock Out Rod Connectoradjuster | eBay
Old June 29th, 2022, 03:06 AM