Wheels and Tires Sponsored by Tire Rack
Click Here

Olds SI vs. Buick Ralley wheel

Search this Thread

Old November 18th, 2010, 11:35 AM

Olds SI vs. Buick Ralley wheel

Hey,
I'm new to the Olds venue and cannot see the difference between the SI and the Buick Ralley wheel. Can anyone point out the differences if any? Does anyone know if the caps are interchangeable between the two? Thanks, Mike
Old November 18th, 2010, 11:40 AM

The Buick wheels have a slight dish/slope to the spokes for one.
Old November 18th, 2010, 12:51 PM
Olds fanatic

A pic is worth a thousand words. As Oldsmaniac pointed out, you can see the slope or curve of the Buick rim as opposed to the straight spoke on the Olds rim.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
spareTires 002.jpg (65.4 KB, 199 views)
File Type: jpg
buick rally wheel.jpg (85.6 KB, 187 views)
Old November 18th, 2010, 02:12 PM

Are the Chevelle SS396 wheels the same as the Olds SSI? I realize they have different center caps and finishes. I think Motor Wheel Corp made both of them. Not sure who made the Buick wheel.
Old November 19th, 2010, 06:33 AM

Yep, the pictures say it all. I imagine anyone putting Buick wheels on a Cutlass would be flogged so I will stay away from them. Thanks
Old November 19th, 2010, 07:10 AM

I agree with 6inarow. The Chevelle SS wheels do look identical. Has anyone used these for an Olds application?
Old November 19th, 2010, 09:27 AM

Measure the lug bolt pattern. I just sold a set of mid-70's Buick Ralley rims with tires because they would not fit on my '68 due to the lug pattern.
Old November 19th, 2010, 01:45 PM

Originally Posted by Mike H.
I agree with 6inarow. The Chevelle SS wheels do look identical. Has anyone used these for an Olds application?
From what I understand the Chevy, Ford, Chrysler 'Magnum' wheels all used the same wheel centers (Kelsey-Hayes, IIRC) as the Olds SS1. The most discerning difference was the Olds has polished spokes whereas the others were painted Silver.