One last time???

Search this Thread

Old December 14th, 2021, 05:19 AM

One last time???

Hey out there. It's been a little while since I've been on any forum. I'd mentioned a several years ago on this forum that I'd owned - fixed up and had sold around 7 to 8 AMC cars from around the years 2000 to 2014. They were rare and cool but NOT WORTH ANYTHING monitory wise.
After selling the last one at that time I've now bought and sold a 1988 Cutlass Supreme Classic, 1986 442, 1979 Hurst Olds Clone, 1979 Hurst Olds real one and sold within the last 2 moths a really rare 1980 442. After promising that car was the THE car I was going to keep at least until I retired, my wife said no more restoring cars. At 58 and limited time because of my job, I'm a PGA Club Professional so in the winter months in S.C. is about the only slow time there is, she said it's too difficult to meet a time deadline by March each year.
So what happens next? A customer says he wants to sell his son's 1988 Cutlass Supreme Classic 80,000 original mile car bought new locally. Sounds awesome doesn't it, but there's always a catch, an upside and downside.
The Upsides it's loaded. Bucket seat, console, rally gauge, power windows, power seat, power door locks, t-tops, cruise control, sport steering wheel, SS1 chrome rally wheels etc. Can't think of a thing that wasn't checked off option wise. Have the dealer invoice and under the back seat was the build sheet for the interior color, cloth etc. Unfortunately the normal build sheet wasn't there, nor behind the seat backs, headliner board, nor anywhere else. The dealer invoice showed $17,000 and some change. That was a lot of money for then. Floors, trunk, rockers really good only around the edges of the T-tops it rusted of course, those things suck. Despite sitting outside since 2006!! the interior is ridiculously good. The molding trim had not one piece dry rotted or cracked and the cloth seats were almost perfect.