The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

Another newbie

Search this Thread

Old April 13th, 2009, 07:10 PM

Another newbie

Just picked another barn find. 1960 Dynamic 88 convertable. One owner garage kept CA no rust car. Stored since 1977 with 104000 miles. Power windows, power seat, P/S and P/B. Repainted and new top in 1975. The 371 2brl is tired and the trans leaks. I will rebuild both. I am a retired GM dealership mechanic, parts manager, service manager and now spend my time restoring cars back to their original condition. This is my first Olds project and am starting with a good solid car. Past cars in my stable were 1928 Buick, 1937 Buick, 1962 Pontiac, 1957 GMC, and some I forgot. Current cars are 1956 Chevy Bel Air 2dr HT, 1962 Vette, 1965 GTO, and 1987 Buick GNX. Buy, fix up, enjoy and sell as the story goes. Phil
Old April 14th, 2009, 04:21 AM

Welcome

Welcome aboard.

I sure you experience will be of great value here.

I'm glad you decided to join us.
Old April 14th, 2009, 04:29 AM
Past Administrator

Hi Phil, glad to have you with us. Your experience sounds similar to my buddy's. He was in the industry for thirty years and just recently moved to teaching kids at the local VoTech. A much harder job, so he says. Must admit, I wouldn't want to try it.
Old April 14th, 2009, 06:00 AM

Smile

Actually my buddy told me I would make a great Vo Tech instructor. I would take the class after a week or two and divide them into two groups.The first, smaller group, I would teach them how to repair cars. The second group i would teach them how to ask if they would like to supersize that order for only 39 cents.
I went to school for auto mechanics, welding and auto body. I was paying my own way all 3 times and took it seriously. Most of the kids are goof offs who wanna fix up their 79 Cutlass.
Why is youth wasted on the young?
Old April 14th, 2009, 07:39 AM