Repainting: lacquer or latter day multistage? What are your views?

Search this Thread

Old July 27th, 2023, 10:51 PM

Repainting: lacquer or latter day multistage? What are your views?

Up front let me state I’m a hobbyist, no paint pro. Hell, I’m colorblind too, so it’s not like I have the most color-critical eye…

I was waxing my ‘66 98 convertible this evening and noticing the flaws that have crept in over 25 years of road use. It still looks fine, but as I recall the paint system they used (pro body shop) was a 2 stage color & clear probably acrylic, if I remember right.

In the Pleistocene era of the ‘60s, cars were painted (unless I miss my guess) with multiple coats of lacquer. And sanded in between coats. Olds called this “Magic Mirror” if the marketing materials are to be believed.

Almost 60 years later, I know of no body shops in CA who spray lacquer. I don’t even know if its legal here.

What I don’t know is if any states still permit lacquer paint systems and whether or not the latter day 2 stage (or more stages) systems are superior to the original lacquers. I can see both sides: original worked fine & also paint systems have come a long way in 55 years…

Imagine you were going to repaint your car aiming at the best available system. If you could, would you go with original style lacquer? Would you go with modern day 2 or multistage acrylic? Or some other system?

I don’t want to foment flame wars, but I am truly interested in your views on what the state of the painting art is today. In a kind way, let your views fly!

Many thanks in advance,
Chris
Old July 28th, 2023, 04:07 AM
Purveyor of Polyurethane

Not really sure why everyone thinks lacquer is illegal, it’s not. Though California marches to the beat of its own drum when it comes to prohibition, so who knows what they’ve banned.