Undercarriage paint

Search this Thread

Old August 15th, 2022, 10:11 AM

Undercarriage paint

What color is the underside of the car supposed to be? I知 painting a W-45. Not sure what it was from factory. I was gonna go with black. I知 not planning on undercoating it.
Old November 23rd, 2022, 04:33 PM

This is SEM Trim Black shot last week. Looks great

Last edited by PaulWinn; November 24th, 2022 at 05:37 AM.
Old January 11th, 2023, 11:01 AM

Looks good. What did you use for a primer? I

Originally Posted by PaulWinn
This is SEM Trim Black shot last week. Looks great

Old January 11th, 2023, 11:20 AM

SPI epoxy, I use nothing but
Old January 11th, 2023, 03:10 PM

SPI epoxy, I use nothing but
That is my plan with my undercarriage as well, but I was considering a urethane paint. I am a novice, but curious as to why you picked SEM trim over a urethane or chassis black?
Old January 11th, 2023, 03:26 PM

I have some DAR black ready to go but the flattener is $125 a QUART now and my hardener was out of sight too. I heard good things about the SEM and gave it a try. Very pleased
Old January 12th, 2023, 04:04 AM
Purveyor of Polyurethane

Originally Posted by nickwisconsin
That is my plan with my undercarriage as well, but I was considering a urethane paint. I am a novice, but curious as to why you picked SEM trim over a urethane or chassis black?
epoxy needs to be top coated. It has poor resistance to uv and abrasion. Not good for anything that痴 going to be exposed. I would use body color on the underside of the body and a 2k urethane satin black for the chassis.
Old January 12th, 2023, 04:15 AM