Rochester 2GC from 72 Delta 350 should i rebuild myself?

Search this Thread

Old November 4th, 2009, 11:50 PM

Rochester 2GC from 72 Delta 350 should i rebuild myself?

Hi, I own a 1972 delta 88 Royale Holiday Sedan that is in great condition, although it has a few problems i have been trying to figure out. This site has been a wealth of information as i am new to working on cars. My engine has hesitation in it. it begins to accelerate at the beginning of depressing the accelerator ok, and once i get past the hesitation point it accelerates fine as well. i have just about ruled out the ignition system and timing and vacuum. I have replaced plugs using the gap specified on the sticker, the plug wires cap and rotor. i set the timing using a timing light. i set the idle mixture screws until the vacuum was steady at 18 inches. timing is set at 8 BTDC. I just managed to get a hold of a Dwell/Tach and i will use that to double-check what i have done previously. I also have purchased an Accell points eliminator, but i have yet to install it. My question is, if i narrow down the problem to my Carb, Would it be smart for me to attempt to rebuild it myself, or should i send it off to someone? If i do rebuild it myself should i just ask for a rebuild kit for that model Carb, or are their other items i will need as well? I would like to do it myself so that i can learn how, but i do not wish to screw it up. Should i get one from a junkyard and rebuild that and save my original just in case? any advice would mean a lot to me.

thanks,
Eric
Old November 5th, 2009, 06:05 AM