Vintage Oldsmobiles Curved Dash, Limited Touring, Models 40, 53, 66; Series 60, 70, 90

1948 model 66 engine swap question

Search this Thread

Old July 5th, 2014, 09:13 AM

1948 model 66 engine swap question

I'd like to know if swapping the original 6 cylinder motor in my 1948 model 66 for a 1948 straight eight motor is an easy thing to do. Will the motor mounts match-up and will there be trouble with the radiator clearance and tranny hook-up? I'm trying to keep this car as vintage as possible but I'd like to install the 8. I've never done a job like this before but I'm pretty good with a wrench. Thanks for any advice.
Old July 5th, 2014, 10:11 PM

Engine Swap Straight 8 into Straight 6 chassis

Originally Posted by bobmobile
I'd like to know if swapping the original 6 cylinder motor in my 1948 model 66 for a 1948 straight eight motor is an easy thing to do. Will the motor mounts match-up and will there be trouble with the radiator clearance and tranny hook-up? I'm trying to keep this car as vintage as possible but I'd like to install the 8. I've never done a job like this before but I'm pretty good with a wrench. Thanks for any advice.
__________________________________________________ _

If you've never done an engine swap it can be daunting. It is most easily done by removing the grille and everything behind it to and including the radiator to get at the engines. Some would even suggest removing the front outer and inner fenders. Of course an engine hoist of some kind is required but they can be rented. Just be sure to get a heavy duty unit. Hand tools can be used but air or electric make the job easier. Expect some rust, possible rounded bolt heads or broken off bolts.

But don't buy and engine or turn a bolt until you do your homework. Ideally you would have access to a 1948 model 68 to do measurements to compare to your model 66. If you don't read on: