Transmission Oil Change - Newbie

Search this Thread

Old July 11th, 2009, 09:08 AM

Transmission Oil Change - Newbie

Howdy! Just wondering if anyone can give me some tips on dropping the trans pan and changing the fluid/filter. I've never done it before but it seems fairly easy and thought I'd save myself 50 bucks or so and do it myself.

I'm changing the oil on my '86 Custom Cruiser first...307 with 200-4R.

It shifts great and no problems that I'm aware of. The pan gasket looks damp so I think it's crapping out...that's why I want to change it...before it starts leaking all over.

Do the filters just pop off on these or do they have bolts?

Thank you!
Old July 11th, 2009, 09:36 AM
Seasoned beater pilot.

The filter usually just has 2 bolts or screws on it. You'll see it once the pan is off. Remember what holes the filter bolts go in.
Take all the bolts out of the pan, and drop the pan down.

Clean up your pan, lay the new gasket on the pan lip, put a few bolts in the corners to hold the gasket to the pan, and hand tighten it up.

Torque pan bolts to 13 lb ft.
Old July 11th, 2009, 10:08 AM

Sweet...thanks...doesn't sound too dicky felt
Old July 11th, 2009, 10:34 AM
Just an Olds Guy

Originally Posted by Joeypete
Howdy! Just wondering if anyone can give me some tips on dropping the trans pan and changing the fluid/filter. I've never done it before but it seems fairly easy and thought I'd save myself 50 bucks or so and do it myself.

I'm changing the oil on my '86 Custom Cruiser first...307 with 200-4R.

It shifts great and no problems that I'm aware of. The pan gasket looks damp so I think it's crapping out...that's why I want to change it...before it starts leaking all over.

Do the filters just pop off on these or do they have bolts?

Thank you!